FOR THE YEAR 2013 - 2014

The Bengal Chamber Golf Trophy, 6th-7th December 2013, The Tollygune Club

It is a popular saying that, “There's no game like golf: you go out with three friends, play eighteen holes, and return with three enemies.” That saying apart, as far as Golf is concerned, the pleasure of playing the 18 holes far outstrips the “displeasure” of beating the other three in the group! Golf, as a sport, has captured the fancy of teeming millions – men and women, the amateur, the professional, the one with a handicap of 25 or a handicap of 9, the businessman, the bureaucrat and the executive. Truth is, a good round of golf is always a great round of golf.

In keeping with this idea, The Bengal Chamber of Commerce and Industry, organized on Friday 6th December 2013 and Saturday,7th December 2013, the third edition of the annual, “National Insurance - Bengal Chamber Trophy Golf & Andrew Yule Sesquicentenary Trophy”, hosted by Medica Synergie Superspeciality Hospitals, a golfing extravaganza for corporates, at the Tollygunge Club, Kolkata. We had a very simple objective – providing corporate leaders an opportunity to showcase their skills with the club, meet new players and develop new friendships. Many a golfer prefers a golf cart to a caddy because the cart cannot count, criticize, or laugh. Our event was an excellent opportunity for all the keen amateurs to not worry about scores, but just have a lot of fun.

Close to 224 golfers participated. Leading city-based corporates participated in the event which was played in a Texas Scramble Format. This year we had the privilege of having the famous footballer Mr. Jose Ramirez Barreto as the Chief Guest of the Tournament. The overall winners of the “National Insurance-Bengal Chamber Trophy” were AWESOME FOUR comprising of Mr. Ashish Bhuwalka, Mr.Rajeev Kesavan , Mr. Manoj Kedia and Ms. Ruchira Bhuwalka who were followed by the Runners Up Team - The Green Warrior comprising of Mr. Rakesh Poddar, Mr. Kunal Guha, Mr. Siddhartha Bansal and Mr. Varun Kohli. The Corporate Winner of the Andrew Yule Sesquicentenary Trophy was team HHI comprising Mr. Vikram Jaiswal, Mr. Amit Daga, Mr. Pavan Ghai and Mr. Mukesh Kapoor who were followed by the Runners Up, Linde Team A, Mr. S K Menon, Mr. A Bhowmik, Mr. AK Sareen and Mr. H Gurtu. The Longest Drive Ballantine Salver was won by Mr. Tejen Banerjee and The Neraest to the Pin was won by Mr. Vinod Kandoi. Mr. Kallol Datta, President, The Bengal Chamber; Mr. Subrata Dutta, Co-Chairperson, Sports Committee of the Chamber, Dr. Alok Roy, Senior Vice President of the Chamber and Mr. Anil Mookerji, CEO, The Tollygunge Club presented the awards.